HOW WOULD YOU DEFINE PRAYER?

“The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth.” (Ps. 145:18)

Q: How would you define prayer? “Communication with God” is correct, but many fail to realize that prayer is a two-way conversation. It is dialogue, not a lecture.

You may want to read the prayers recorded in the Bible. Those of our Lord Jesus, David, Paul, and others often talk about more than just speaking to God, but also how God answered them. He will do the same for us. That may be via an impression, a voice that you know is Him, through Scripture or circumstances; but He does answer.

When you pray, do you even expect an answer? I sometimes rush before God in the morning, pray for the needs of myself and a few others, praise Him a bit for good measure, and before I can even put the period on “In Jesus’ name I pray,” I’m gone and on to starting my day. I often fail to allow time for listening. Active resting.

That is why being still is such a vital habit to cultivate. While God responds to our prayers on His timetable, we can nevertheless expect to hear from Him as we pray; we just need to be still, listen, and take that time. Pray with expectation—not that your prayers will be answered exactly your way, but with confidence that they will be answered. It is so amazing to think that the Creator of all hears us!

Q: How would YOU define prayer?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HOW WOULD YOU DEFINE PRAYER?

  1. tonyadams971 says:

    I love this Frank! Man I could’ve thought you were talking about me for a second.
    This makes me think of a time when I was trying to renew a contract for my job. It was was the only time I had someone else put in a bid for my job. So I was a little nervous( who am I kidding, I was a lot nervous). I prayed and prayed and heard God answer me with”don’t worry”

  2. Pingback: Inspiration - Prayer and Meditation

Leave a Reply

